Congressman Bill Foster Announces Re-election Campaign and Endorsements

Wednesday, July 5, 2023

Naperville, IL – Today, U.S. Congressman Bill Foster (IL-11) launched his reelection campaign and a list of over thirty elected officials who endorsed his candidacy on the first day. Rep. Foster, a scientist, and businessman who has represented the people of Illinois since 2008, released the following statement:

“As a scientist and businessman who ran for Congress to solve problems, I’m proud of what we’ve accomplished, yet I know we have more work to do. Together we can tackle rising costs, protect everyone’s rights, and transform the American economy to address the 21st-century challenge of climate change by developing the sustainable and advanced manufacturing techniques to combat it.”

Foster added, “I’m proud of the early support I’ve received from Democrats at the state and federal levels. They know how important it is that we hold this seat, and make sure we keep the only Ph.D. physicist in Congress to fight for fact-driven solutions to America’s challenges.”

With a slim GOP majority in the House of Representatives, Foster commented on the fact that securing seats like Illinois’ 11th District is crucial for Democrats to take back the majority. 

“If we’re serious about tackling issues like gun violence, climate change, protecting voting rights, immigration reform, and restoring reproductive rights, it’s integral that we bring an end to the dysfunctional extreme GOP House majority – and that means defending battleground districts like Illinois’ 11th.

“I’m looking forward to this race, and I am proud of my record of delivering results that strengthen the communities that I am honored to represent.”

Rep. Foster proudly announced the following initial round of endorsements:

U.S. Senator Dick Durbin

U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth

U.S. Rep. Jonathan Jackson (IL-01)

U.S. Rep. Robin Kelly (IL-02)

U.S. Rep. Jesus “Chuy” Garcia (IL-04)

U.S. Rep. Mike Quigley (IL-05)

U.S. Rep. Sean Casten (IL-06)

U.S. Rep. Danny Davis (IL-07)

U.S. Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08)

U.S. Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)

U.S. Rep. Brad Schneider (IL-10)

U.S. Rep. Nikki Budzinski (IL-13) 

U.S. Rep. Eric Sorensen (IL-17)

Illinois Lt. Governor Juliana Stratton

Illinois Attorney General Kwame Raoul

Illinois Secretary of State Alexi Giannoulias

Illinois Comptroller Susana Mendoza

Illinois Treasurer Mike Frerichs

State Sen. Laura Ellman (IL-21)

State Sen. Cristina Castro (IL-22)

State Sen. Steve Stadelman (IL-34)

State Sen. Linda Holmes (IL-42) 

State Sen. Meg Loughran Cappel (IL-49)

State Rep. Janet Yang Rohr (IL-41)

State Rep. Terra Costa Howard (IL-42)

State Rep. Maura Hirschauer (IL-49)

State Rep. Barbara Hernandez (IL-50)

State Rep. Suzanne Ness (IL-66)

State Rep. Dave Vella (IL-68)

State Rep. Anne Stave Murray (IL-81)

State Rep. Stephanie Kifowit (IL-84)

*Additional endorsements to follow


Paid for by Bill Foster for Congress